Alabama Communities of Excellence

The cities of Jasper and Oneonta have each been named an Alabama Community of Excellence. Their graduation ceremony was held at the opening session of the Alabama League of Municipalities convention on May 20th.

ACE is a 501(c)(3) organization that provides technical assistance to select communities with populations ranging from 2,000 to 18,000 that helps to strengthen the communities’ long-term economic success. This year marks 15 years of ACE providing the resources and knowledge for small communities across the state to focus on the importance of planning, leadership development and broad-based community engagement.

 In our region, Graysville, Helena, Jasper, Leeds, Montevallo, and Oneonta are ACE Towns. Additionally, Center Point and Chelsea have been chosen to begin the ACE process this year.